Top 10 Teen and Young Adult Book Series

Author: Sherry Helms

Suffused with love triangles, adventure anger, tragedy, anguish, blood and strong male and female protagonists, this wonderful collection of teen and young adult book series selected by our editorial team will not only appeal to teenagers or young adults but also to those whose ages have already crossed the teen level. For everyone who wishes to jump upon the excited world of teen and YA fantasy, these amazing and adventurous series are worth reading.

Harry Potter Series

harry potter

Named after titular character, Harry Potter, this series of seven fantasy novels, including Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling have been made into movies by Warner Bros Pictures. Translated into 67 languages, the series chronicles the tale of young wizard, Harry Potter and his expedition through Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Suffused with the elements of suspense, thriller, adventure and mystery, the book has received a host of awards since publication.

Divergent Series

divergent seriesSet in a post-apocalyptic Chicago, this #1New York Times bestseller trilogy by Veronica Roth exposes the secrets of a dystopian world. The author spun a gripping tale of a world, where children are divided into five factions according to their abilities such as Erudite, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity and Candor. Beatrice Prior, the main protagonist and a strong-willed sixteen-year-old girl of the novel, doesn’t fit in the criteria. This fast-paced young adult series encompasses Insurgent, Divergent and Allegiant

Twilight Series

twilight series

American author Stephenie Meyer wrote this wonderful series of four vampire-themed fantasy romance novels. It tells the unusual love story of Isabella Swan, a teenage girl and a 104-year-old vampire named Edward Cullen. The books in order are – Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn.

The Hunger Games Trilogy

The Hunger Games Trilogy

Written by Suzanne Collins all the three titles of this trilogy has been a NY Times bestsellers. This adventurous science fiction series consists of The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

Percy Jackson and Olympians series

Rick Riordan authored this pentalogy of adventure and sci-fi books. Sold 20m copies in more than 35 countries; this series has been on ”The New York Times” Best Seller list for more than 55 months. Riordan’s YA fantasy series has been released along with four supplementary books and a graphic novel.  The books in order are- The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian.

The Giver series

The Giver Series

Written by Lois Lowry, this is a tale of 12-year old boy named Jonas who receives a life assignment. The boy chose the special way that leads him to a strange unknown man- the man called only the Giver. He knows the truth and memories of the past and tells him the dark secrets that lie beneath the flimsy perfection of his world. Set in the same future era, this series contains three other books named- The novel forms Gathering Blue (2000), Messenger (2004), and Son (2012).

The Mortal Instruments Series

The Mortal Instruments Series

The author Cassandra Clare has written this series of six young adult science fiction and fantasy novels. The series consists of City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls and  City of Heavenly Fire. The last novel in the series has not been published yet.

Vampire Academy Series

Vampire Academy series

A series of six YA paranormal romance books by Richelle Mead, Vampire Academy is a story of teen Dhampir girl, Rose Hathaway, who is training to be a bodyguard for her Moroi bestfriend, Vasilisa “Lissa” Dragomir. The books Vampire Academy, Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise, Spirit Bound and Last Sacrifice. The first book in the series, Vampire Academy, was being made into a motion picture.

The Maze Runner Trilogy

The maze runner series

Written by James Dashner, this trilogy- The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure, revolves around a teen named Thomas who combats to survive in a post-apocalyptic world. The first book in this YA dystopian sci-fi trilogy has been made into movie in 2014 by Fox.

Delirium Series

Delrium seriesThis wonderful YA Dystopian trilogy,  written by Lauren Oliver, chronicles the story of Lena and Alex, two teens who fall in love with each other in a society where love is considered as a disease. Published in January 2011, this dystopian YA series consists of Delirium, Pandemonium and Requiem.


Leave a Reply

Stay Connected